My “Super” Family

Image

Remember how I wasn’t sure how I felt about posting pictures of myself or my kids on here? And I wasn’t sure I’d ever post pictures of my husband? Well things changed (yes in only a couple weeks), because of the amazing family photos we had done. We are big super-hero people, Mark and I. When I was little the thing I wanted most in the world was to be Batgirl (Barbara Gordon). She was the idol of my childhood. Mark was more of a Marvel guy and his two big superheroes are Iron Man and Captain America. We actually both regret that we left our comic love out of our wedding, but we went super traditional and it was beautiful, but we live our family life on the Geeky side for sure. Alex, our oldest, has a super-hero bedroom (started out as his nursery) and my boys have between them dozens of super-hero outfits, thanks both to Mark and myself and our loving family and friends.

So when the time came to do fall family photos, Mark suggested we do super hero t-shirts. I had been Pinterest-ing photo outfit ideas, figuring we’d go with neutrals or something like that, so I was a little surprised by his idea but upon thinking about it I realized how “us” it was and wasn’t that the point? These are the photos we’re going to treasure forever, so we might as well look like us and let our personality shine through. We decided we needed to go with one universe and Alex only had DC stuff, so Mark sucked it up and wore his Flash t-shirt (he does actually like DC, he just doesn’t love Batman or Superman, which are the heroes who tend to be the most widely available)–on a special note, he was wearing this same t-shirt in the first picture of him holding Alex two years ago. The boys dressed as Superman and Batman and I dressed up as my beloved Batgirl (though sadly I haven’t been able to find a shirt in the actual purple and yellow in my size). I would be so into that, anyone see a reasonably priced one in a Ladies medium that ships to Canada without charging an arm and a leg?

My kids were pretty well behaved, though Alex was a bit of a diva and didn’t love sharing the spotlight with his brother  (though we got a couple pictures of them pretending to like each other) or his dad and I for that matter. Still, though we got at least a few of us as a happy family. I’ve only seen the teasers so far, but they have me so excited to see the rest. They were taken by Sarah Freeburn from Sarah Freeburn Photography, who has taken all of our family pictures, including our wedding photos and always does a fantastic job. She can even get Alex to smile (sometimes)! So here’s your first look at me and my gorgeous, if slightly geeky, family!

Image

Image

ImageAren’t my boys gorgeous? And I have to admit, Mark and I clean up nice. I love how much of our true personality shines out of these pictures, which I think is the key to good photos. I am so grateful to have so many wonderful photos of my family and I know I will continue to get professional photos done as my boys get older.

This entry was posted in Family, Fictional Characters, Life, Marriage, Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment